Log in

Log in

ICWP & Playscripts Funny Women Playwriting Contest Winner Announced.

29 Mar 2014 8:10 AM | Anonymous

WOMEN ARE FUNNY! The facts are in…

An international playwriting competition has delivered the verdict⎯Women are Funny.

Jacqueline Goldfinger & Jennifer MacMillan proved the point as the inaugural winners of a collaborative project between The International Centre for Women Playwrights (ICWP) and Playscripts Inc. Their one-act play for High School students, Enter Bogart, attracts a $1,000 prize, a year membership of ICWP, and publication of the playscript.

The competition was for women playwrights, a move that both organisations are making as one way to redress the gender balance in the world of theatre.  Playscripts received all the entries and ICWP judged the finalists with an international panel of judges.

Enter Bogart out-tickled two plays that received ‘honourable mentions’: What Not To Do At The Districts by Samara Siskind and Ella's Magic Garden by ICWP member Shirley King, who were the runners up in this years competition. Winner Jacqueline, is a co-founder of The Foundry, which is an organization that supports the development of emerging playwrights. Jennifer is a professional actor, director, and theater educator. Enter Bogart is the first play that she's written.

The competition forges a positive relationship between Playscripts, Inc and ICWP as both have a mission to make available new plays with diverse voices.

Press release


  • 11 May 2015 1:35 PM | Carolyn Wistrand
    Bridge Initiative Lauds Playwright Kat Ramsburg, Director Amanda Noel Trombley
    The female-empowerment organization announces the winner of its inaugural playwriting competition, to be staged at an event in June.

    Playwright Kat Ramsburg.
    Playwright Kat Ramsburg.
    MESA, ARIZ.: The Bridge Initiative: Women in Arizona Theatre has named New York City-based Kat Ramsburg its playwright of the year and Phoenix native Amanda Noel Trombley as director of the year. Trombley will direct the world premiere of Ramsburg’s Anatomy of a Hug, about a young woman whose dying mother is discharged from prison into her care, as part of the Bridge Initiative’s inaugural gathering, June 19-21, at Mesa Encore Theatre.

    The Bridge Initiative received 102 plays from 22 states, the District of Columbia, and three foreign countries for its playwriting contest. Works were adjudicated by a team of 13 professional artists living in New York City, Los Angeles, Colorado, Oregon and Arizona. Every submission was scored anonymously, on criteria of originality, storytelling, dialogue, characters, production potential and a wanna-see factor.

    Amanda Noel Trombley.
    Amanda Noel Trombley.
    The Bridge Initiative has also awarded two runners-up, whose plays will be presented in readings in June. Carolyn Nur Wistrand’s Magdalena’s Crossing, set in Texas and the Mexican borderlands, is described by the playwright as a “modern sorrow song of identity and immigration.” And Heidi Armbruster’s Dairyland follows a young woman from Wisconsin who loses herself in New York City and only rediscovers her identity when she returns home to the farm.

    The Bridge Initiative, which launched in January, is an Arizona nonprofit working to identify and empower female artists in the Southwest region, with the aim of gender parity across all theatrical disciplines. Its mission also includes bridging the gap between academia and the professional world to encourage students to envision a clearer path to becoming lifelong artists.
    Link  •  Reply

To leave a comment, you need to be logged in as a member.
Leave a comment by clicking the blue button at the top of the post

The International Centre for Women Playwrights is a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting women playwrights around the world.    

 Contact ICWP:  Contact ICWP  Visit Our Facebook Page  Follow us on Twitter @ICWP

ICWP Is a 501- c - 3 Non Profit  Organization, incorporated in the State of Ohio, USA

For general questions,  contact Margaret McSeveney, Communications Manager:

For the Board of Directors,  contact Pat Morin, President

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software